‘Tis the Season for Pie

I am thankful for so many things this holiday season. One in particular? My mom, who taught me all her pie making secrets this year! When I took on a dessert assignment for Thanksgiving, I knew I wanted to make pie. The only problem? I’ve never really made a pie before. So my mom invited me over to join her for a pie making marathon/lesson on Wednesday. The result?

Thanksgiving pies

That’s right. SEVEN pies. Four for my mom and three for me. It was definitely an all day project, but I was so happy to have my mom’s help and recipes! First up? Pumpkin pies!

Pumpkin pie mixLIBBY’S® Pumpkin Pie
Source: LIBBY’S® Pumpkin label

3/4 cup sugar
1/2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp. ground gloves
2 large eggs
1 can LIBBY’S® 100% Pure Pumpkin (15 oz)
1 can Carnation Evaporated Milk (12 oz)
1 unbaked 9-inch pie shell

- Mix sugar, salt, cinnamon, ginger and cloves in a small bowl. In a large bowl, beat the eggs. Stir in pumpkin and sugar-spice mixture. Gradually stir in evaporated milk.
– Pour into pie shell and bake in preheated 425-degree F oven for 15 minutes. Reduce heat to 350 and bake 40-50 more minutes. Let cool for two hours on a wire rack.
– Serve immediately or refrigerate.

My Grammy makes one substitution to the original recipe that we followed, but if I told you, I’d have to kill you.

Next up, we tackled chocolate chip pies, which are delicious!

Chocolate chip pieChocolate Chip Pie
Source: family recipe, similar to this one found on Bakerella from Nestle Classic Recipes, 2003

1 prebaked 9-inch pie shell
2 large eggs
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup butter, softened and cooled
1 cup (6 ounces) semi-sweet chocolate chips

- Preheat oven 325 degrees F. Prebake pie crust for about 15 minutes.
– Beat eggs in large mixer bowl on high until foamy. Beat in flour, granulated sugar, brown sugar and butter.
– Stir in chocolate chips and spoon into pie shell.
– Bake for one hour. Cool on wire rack.

This pie is definitely served best warm, so eat it immediately or plan to reheat. It’s like a chocolate chip cookie in pie form: what’s not to like?

Last up, we made my mom’s recipe for pecan pie, which is so delicious and not too sweet. But, that’s another family secret!

Pecan pie

All in all, it was such a great day! Full of delicious food and family time. What better way to spend Thanksgiving Eve?

Thanksgiving pie

Happy Thanksgiving! Hope you all had as much delicious pie as we did :) What is your favorite holiday dessert?

One thought on “‘Tis the Season for Pie

  1. A great pleasure to spend the day with you baking pies. Next time–you will have to make crust. After 30 years, finally figured it out. The secret–marble countertops and marble rolling pin.

Leave a Reply

