Jessica Alba’s Shredded Chicken Enchiladas

Now, I know what you’re thinking. There’s no way in hell Jessica Alba eats cheesy enchiladas and still has a body like that. I agree, but the Internet claims this is her recipe, and if it’s on the Internet, it must be true!

This is the best enchilada recipe I’ve had. It’s a huge hit in my family, and it might be the best thing I know how to make. Back in the day when I first started dating my boyfriend (now husband), I cooked up a huge batch of these, and I’m pretty sure we polished off the whole dish in one day.

I apologize that I didn’t snap more pictures. It’s too delicious, so we dove right in.

Below is the recipe with a few tweaks that I make to the original. I use more cheese (duh) and I also use flour tortillas instead of corn, because I think they hold up better in the dish. I usually have a hard time finding the green chile enchilada sauce at my store, so if you have the same issue, two cans of the regular enchilada sauce work perfectly. NOTE: this is not a quick recipe, and you will make every dish in your house dirty making it. But it’s worth it for a nice weekend meal when you have more time.

Jessica Alba's Chicken Enchiladas

Jessica Alba’s Shredded Chicken Enchiladas
Source: SELF Magazine

(Printable Recipe)

- 4 cups chicken stock
- 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 5 oz each), cut into strips
- 1 jalapeño pepper
- 1 clove garlic
- 1 jar (12 oz) salsa
- 2 to 3 cups of cheese
- 1/2 cup chopped fresh cilantro
- 1 can (2.25 oz) sliced black olives, drained
- 1 can (16 oz) traditional enchilada sauce
- 1 can (16 oz) green chile enchilada sauce
- Cooking spray
- 8 flour tortillas (6 inches across)

- Heat oven to 425°.
- In a medium pot, boil stock, chicken, jalapeño and garlic 15 minutes or until chicken is cooked through.
- Strain chicken, run cold water over it and shred into a bowl. Mix in salsa and set aside.
- In a separate bowl, combine cheese, cilantro and olives; set aside.
- In a large pot over medium heat, combine enchilada sauces and stir until simmering. Set aside.
- Coat an 11″ x 13″ casserole pan with nonstick spray. Microwave tortillas 20 seconds. Place small handfuls of cheese mixture and chicken in center of each tortilla, roll up and place in pan, seam side down. Sprinkle with remaining cheese mixture. Ladle on sauce, then add remaining 1/4 cup Monterey Jack.
- Bake 20 minutes.
YUM, now I’m hungry. What is your favorite enchilada recipe?

One thought on “Jessica Alba’s Shredded Chicken Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

